Learning to breathe

Sunset


The few days after the fight were a flurry of events. Events too painful to narrate. I ended my affair with Tiwa in Sunmade’s presence. Then my son and I flew to London with my husband.

He has not said two words to me since we got here. It has been four days now.

Thursday.

I run my fingers over the healing wound over my left eye and turn to gaze upon my son as he toddles towards me.

“Mama” he coos.

“Hey baby. Come to mommy” I wrap him in my arms and twirl round the living room.

He shrieks and laughs.

The sound of his laughter reminds me of my wedding day and how Sunmade and I danced in endless circles, endless joy, endless happiness. And I could smell the cologne he wore that day all over again.

We were so young. We had no fear. We were wide-eyed.

The door creaks open and the object of my thoughts appears.

We stare at each other.

I put Ire in his chair and fumble with my hands.

“I’m…I’m sorry I beat you.” He says.

“I’m not sorry you did.”

Something in his eyes softens as he comes towards me and holds me.
I cheated on the one man I ever truly loved and guess what he did…

He chose to stay.

Single Post Navigation

17 thoughts on “Sunset

  1. Is that the last part? If it is, then it was the perfect end, in my opinion oh! Not all men would do that.

  2. Achi_va on said:

    Strong man.

  3. Noooo *chants* we want more!!

  4. That’s a man! First time is a mistake and should be forgiven, but the second time is a choice …be wise

  5. That’s a man! First time is a mistake and should be forgiven, but the second time is a choice …be wise

    Sad d story has to end 😦

  6. Raji on said:

    *round of applause*

  7. Beautiful.

    Depending on the situation, I would stay. Depends on how much hope I see in us working it all out.

    I’ve been in this sort of position once before. I stayed. 🙂

  8. You spelled me wrong. I do this everyday.

  9. Yeweezii on said:

    I like this story. Its very endearing. You write so beautifully 🙂

Leave a Reply

