Learning to breathe

Another meet-up


So the other day I found myself bitterly complaining about transportation and bus drivers in Lagos to a friend of mine and it shocked me just as much as I’m sure it shocked her that I was narrating the incident to her, three days after it had happened. I’m not one to care much about rude bus drivers, horrible customer care, strike in universities, human head breaking, mase-wielding men in government and generally everything related to Nigeria. But maybe what I’ve been praying for is really happening and my heart is starting to break for something other than myself. Just maybe, God has started wrecking this heart for her country. I’m not there yet but I’m on my way.

Nehemiah Project Prayermobs will be meeting up virtually and physically again on the 15th of this month between 12:00pm and 12:10pm. You don’t need to fly down to Lagos; you can start a mob right where you are. God is everywhere and He is more than ready to hear prayers from people that have abandoned the sit-and-complain-in-armchair fraternity. Last month, I felt strongly that God would have us fast also for our country as we pray. I like to think that fasting doesn’t change God’s heart; it changes ours because it is changing mine. There are a handful of fasts you can do and I’ve written a little about them here with a couple of guidelines you really want to know. So maybe you’re new around here and you don’t yet know what NPPM is. I’ll quickly run this by you so we’re on the same page more than literally.

  • Who are we?

Nigerians that are tired of the religious-yet-godless society we’re in, corruption, poverty and are willing to do something to change the state of things

  • What do we do?

We fast between the 13th and 15th of every month and pray on the 15th from 12:00pm to 12:10pm. For the rest of the month, we consciously seek ways to improve ourselves and our country.

  • What do we want?

We want reformation, unity in our diversity, an end to Boko Haram and other fanatical religious sects, one nation under God. Finally, we want the sit-and-complain-in-armchair state depopulated.

  • When do we want it?

We want it now.

So will you join me to fast from today till 15th? And will you pray with me on the 15th? When you’ve made the decision to, and actually follow through with it, I would love to hear that you prayed. There’s something about community and knowing you are not alone that encourages you to do better, to pray more. The families that rebuilt the walls of Jerusalem worked side by side; seeing each other lay brick upon brick. They stayed together in a one-line human fortress and fought off their enemies for each other. I believe they couldn’t have finished rebuilding the walls any other way. You can connect with the movement on Twitter, Facebook and GooglePlus. Tweet, facebook or googleplus us the hashtags “#NPPM #Iprayed” (with a picture, maybe) after 12:10pm on the 15th so we can share crazy joy with each other!  You don’t have to be religious to start or join a prayermob; as a matter of fact I’d prefer you weren’t. Just have a heart for God and a heart that wants to live and die for bigger things.nehemiah project prayermobs

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Another meet-up

  1. ebube nwosu on said:

    how do i contact you guyz. am serving in owo and i wld love to be a part of this movement. and see hw i could get one going in owo!

Leave a comment