Learning to breathe

A Heart That Can Break


Melting, flaring, weeping, dying
One of the best things in life is feeling
Feeling the loss of a friendship
Feeling the loss of a relationship
And the beginning of one
Feeling sympathy for the old man repairing shoes down the street
In the heat of the sun
In the light of day
Feeling my heart swell for the newborn fingers that grip my thumb ever so gently
Feeling, and possibly smelling,
But most likely feeling the fragrance of body wash
As it mingles with steam in my nose
Feeling the hurt that flies out of your mouth when you’re angry
Feeling my heart swell with assurance of unfailing love, protection and attention

Simply feeling

I want a heart that can break
I want tears that I can make
I want laughter that I don’t have to fake
I want to feel everything and anything
I want all the emotions there are to take
For I fear that if I cannot feel
I’ll start dying slowly and surely
Pain, pleasure, awe, love, ate, courage, fear

I want it
And I embrace it with the near blindness of the old man down the street with cataracts

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “A Heart That Can Break

  1. Feeling the vibe this poem gives
    Feeling the need to share it with people and inspire…… LOL

    Nice one babes

  2. ‘Wit the near blindness of the old man down the streets with cataract’

    I like this, but to click like is now big wahala on here

  3. 0latoxic on said:

    Splendid and delightful.

    Good one, Ibukun.

Leave a comment